2015/2016 CHEVENING SCHOLARSHIPS IN INDONESIA ARE NOW OPEN

Chevening Awards in Indonesia

Applications for 2015/2016 Chevening Scholarships in Indonesia are now open, and will close on 15 November at 23:59 GMT.

Chevening Scholarships are awarded to talented professionals who are potential future leaders, decision-makers and opinion formers. The scholarships not only offer financial support to study for a Master’s degree at the UK’s leading universities, but the opportunity to become part of an influential and highly regarded global network.

The following awards are available in Indonesia:

Chevening Indonesia Scholarships
Chevening Indonesia/Prudential Life Assurance Scholarships
Chevening Indonesia/University of Warwick Scholarships
Chevening Central Partnership Awards
What can I study?

For Chevening Indonesia Scholarships, we accept applications from a wide range of subject areas, and particularly welcome applications in the following fields:

Foreign Policy, including International Security, Defence, Conflict Resolution; Disaster Relief and Humanitarian Management; Military Engineering (e.g., aeronautical, marine)
Democracy and Governance including Human Rights; Market Access including Anti-Corruption issues, Free Trade Agreements, Monetary Studies/policy, Trade & Investment issues, Science & Innovation, Intellectual Property Rights
Energy studies; Peatland and Forestry Management; Palm Oil development; Urban Planning
Education Management; Hospital Management
Media (Journalism, Broadcasting); Tourism
What does a Chevening Scholarship in Indonesia include?

A monthly stipend
Travel to and from your country via an approved route
An arrival and excess baggage allowance
A thesis or dissertation grant
The cost of an entry clearance visa
Tuition fees up to £16,500
There is also a global Chevening fee cap of £13,000 for MBA and Master’s in Finance. If the tuition fees of your chosen university course exceed this amount, you will be required to fund the remainder of your tuition fees.

 

Rathria Arrina Rachman

Chevening Scholar 2011/12, University of Edinburgh Business School, Scotland

???????????????????????????????

Edinburgh, the start of my journey…

I have been living in the beautiful and historical city of Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. I am majoring in finance and investment and before pursuing a Master’s degree in the UK, I worked as investment banker for two years at one of the leading security companies in Indonesia. I first visited the UK in 2010 when my company organised an international business roadshow to London and Edinburgh. As vital financial centres of the world, these two cities have always been recognised as major destinations for business. My first visit to the UK was so impressive that it gave me the ambition to return to this wonderful country one day. Nine months later, I successfully came back to the UK as a Chevening Scholar, and Edinburgh became a great stepping stone towards achieving my dreams.

A life-changing opportunity

I can gladly say that I’ve loved every second of being a Chevening Scholar! As well as gaining a deeper understanding of the field I’m passionate about, I have also experienced one of the most life-enhancing episodes in my life. Education in the UK is well known for its excellent international reputation – the quality of its education system and research excellence; and the universities here are well-equipped with high-quality infrastructure. With its global exposure and influence, the UK is one of the best places in which to study business and finance.

As well benefitting from the high standards of teaching and learning, I have found my time studying in the UK has helped me reach my full potential in other ways. The UK is an amazing place to live as it has a strong identity, interesting culture, unique accents, remarkable ethnic diversity, and lovely cities to explore. Having a new family and meeting new friends from different backgrounds is an advantage of living in a diverse and multi-cultural country like the UK. I also have a new Scottish family in Edinburgh and a close relationship with extraordinary Indonesian Chevening Scholars. For this reason, Chevening is way more than just a scholarship. It does not only offer an opportunity for talented people from around the world to study, but also to improve non-academic skills and build a global network with other Scholars, and find a new ‘home’.

The FCO and Chevening Secretariat have been so professional and helpful in dealing with administrative matters, initiating and maintaining networks among the Scholars, and organising brilliant events such as the welcome reception, the Chevening forum, seminars, and lastly, the upcoming farewell event.

What it means to be a Chevening Scholar

I have met many brilliant Chevening Scholars from many different countries and I believe that Chevening Scholars are not only students, but ambassadors and agents of change for the future. I think that by utilizing and sustaining the Chevening network that has been built, we will do better in achieving our goals, spreading our knowledge and reaching positions of influence in our fields.

How to make the most of your Chevening experience

The success of Chevening Scholars is not only dependent on academic excellence, and I strongly urge future scholars to manage their time efficiently in order to take full advantage of living in the UK. By doing so, they will improve their non-academic skills which are important for their future career. Networking, travelling, exploring cultures, and experiencing new things are fascinating activities that broaden the mind and sharpen knowledge. I believe that these kind of activities complement academic life and provide additional important benefits.

And finally…

After successfully finishing my study in the UK, I plan to be a financial advisor for corporations and to share and deepen my knowledge by becoming a university lecturer and researcher. I hope that in the future my practical and theoretical skills will benefit society and the world as a whole. My Chevening experience has been beyond my greatest expectations. This once-in-a-lifetime opportunity is fantastic!

 

SOURCE : http://www.chevening.org